top of page

The Eight Limbs: Yama (Satya)


Yama No.2 - Satya

Satya is honesty. It's about being truthful in everything you say but also being truthful to yourself. I mean yeah, don't tell lies, but Satya is more about the finer details. Have you ever said something just because you think it's what someone wants to hear? Have you ever thought, "I know my ankle is hurting a lot, but it's fine I'll just push through this incredibly strenuous sports aerobics routine"? That, my friends, is an absence of Satya.

Similar to Ahimsa, Satya starts with what you say and then what you think. There are four questions to ask yourself before you say or think something in order to abide by Satya.

1. Is it true?

Simple. Ask yourself if the statement is truthful or not.

2. Is it REALLY true?

Come on, think about it harder. Don't let your emotions cloud your judgement! Ask yourself if it really is true.

3. Is it necessary?

Ok, so it may be true, but what will anyone gain from you saying or thinking the comment? If it is going to bring yourself or someone else down, why bother? It is important also to not be overly truthful. There are some things that not everyone needs to know! If your comment or thought is not necessary, don't say or think it.

4. Is it kind/ can you say it in a kind way?

If you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. Similar to the above question, this is in order to ask yourself how you can say or think it in a positive way that will still abide by Ahimsa and do no harm. It's not WHAT you say, but HOW you say it.

As yoga teachers, we try to use Satya by being careful what we say. We try to give kind corrections ("I think you'll get more out of this if you bring your legs in a bit") but we also have to remember to be totally truthful (so we won't say "well done, you've got it!" if you haven't). We also encourage others to be truthful to themselves in their physical poses. We want to encourage people to listen to themselves and do what is best for them in that particular moment.

In daily life, sometimes this is tricky for me. I am generally honest, but sometimes too honest. Some people would call it 'being blunt'. What I really need to work on is being honest in a nice way. In terms of my yoga practise, Satya has become more and more of a part of my life as I study more and more yoga. All of the dishonest things I've been saying for years through ballet are starting to break away, so I can actually listen to my body and see what it wants to do, rather than forcing it into a grand rond de jambe.

So, that's Satya!

I hope I've given you all a little insight into what yoga philosophy says about honesty.

Namaste x


Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Snapchat Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page