top of page

The Eight Limbs


As part of my yoga teacher training, I studied yoga philosophy. I thought it would be appropriate if I taught all those who are willing a bit about the philosophy behind yoga.

It's simple, yet brilliant.

Basically there are eight parts, or limbs, that make up out general philosophy. They are:

  1. Yamas

  2. Niyamas

  3. Asana

  4. Pranayama

  5. Pratyahara

  6. Dharana

  7. Dhyana

  8. Samadhi

I know, it looks like a lot of jibberish. Let me put it this way:

  1. Universal practice

  2. Personal practice

  3. Physical practice

  4. Breath control

  5. Withdrawal

  6. Concentration

  7. Meditation

  8. Enlightenment

Still not making a whole lot of sense? That's ok. It took me a while to get my head around!

Over the next couple of weeks I will post regularly with a focus on one of the Eight Limbs and hopefully by the end I will have given you an insight in to why we do yoga and how we can make out practices more beneficial for ourselves and for others.

In other news, with my kids yoga teacher training coming up next week, my incredible yoga teacher and boss has promised me a trial run of some kids classes in the studio! YAY! I absolutely can't wait, so spread the word to anyone with kids!

Mia x

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Snapchat Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page