top of page

How to love yourself during that time of the month

That's right, girls. I'm talking about periods.

Not gonna lie, Aunty Flow gave me a visit this past week and it got me thinking about the yogic approach to looking after yourself during this time.

As much as you may hate it when it comes along, our periods are awesome little reminders of the incredible stuff our body can do. Where would we be without them!

That said, it can be tough to send love to your lady parts when it feels like they're going on a violent rampage in your tummy and sending Niagara falls out to stain your white jeans. We all have our own little remedies for curing all your menstrual problemos, but here are my tips for staying sane and loving yourself while your on your period.

1. Tea

These are the teas that may help lift your spirits and ease some pain and worry during your period. These are the brands I use, but any will do :)

2. Period/PMS yoga

From my favourite YouTube yogi, Yoga With Adriene, this is Yoga for Cramps and PMS. This is some movement for the painful side of periods. It's gentle, it's nurturing, it's just lovely. I would also encourage a little bit of cobra if you have tummy cramps, it helps me!

3. Period Panties

http://www.shethinx.com/

First off I just wanna say that I have not tried other brands of period undies, so I will be talking about Thinx, but I know there are other brands of period panties.

So Thinx is awesome. Basically period panties are like a pad built in to your undies that you can simply wash and use again. You can wear them as back up for your tampon/pad/cup/etc or let them be the only thing you wear.

When I'm on my period, I know I get a bit grumpy and a bit lazy and I hate changing tampons, so these undies make it so so easy for me! Not only that I reckon it's great for the environment if we're not throwing out all these tampons and pads and it's cost effective as one pair last for ages, after all, you only need them once a month.

Thinx also is awesome because for every purchase of undies, they give a bunch of reusable pads to girls in developing countries who miss school for a week when they're on their period. How good is that!

4. Food

Beat those cravings, this is what you really need!

5. Reading material

Namaste, ladies. I hope this helps some of you! Put your period/cramps/PMS tips in the comments!

Mia x

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Snapchat Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page